< Return

Testimonials

Villa Mayana

WHAT AN AMZING HOME/ STAFF / Experiance..
we loved every minute!!!

Review Submitted: July 26, 2017

If I could give them 100 stars I would! Our family takes an annual vacation, we've been all over the world & this house & the staff are by far our favorite so far!

Our family is large. Villa Manaya holds 16 people, so I reached out to the owner Rick to see if we could do 20 people. As luck would have it, he told us about another rental home next door, the Lattice house. Both homes are beautiful & they share a drive away. Its a quick drive from one to the other, you could even walk if you wanted, IT WAS PERFECT.

The houses are both managed by a woman named Anna! Our family loved her. She was SO helpful, always there when we needed her & just an all around pleasure. She gave us directions, shopping locations, she suggested multiple tours & we did a bunch of them. All of the tours she recommend were outstanding w/ amazing guides.

AND I haven’t even got to the most delicious part yet !! DONALD the CHEF, he comes w/ the rental & he is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! The food was so good & the fresh juices he made 3 times a day, we felt like we were at a gourmet restaurant every night. We could hardly finish a meal w/o getting excited about what the next meal would be. B/c we rented both homes we paid a little extra for him to cook for everyone, HE WAS SO WORTH IT! the maids were great the house was always clean & they did our laundry. We added maid service to the lattice house as well..

Now to the house itself. WOW, When we walked in we were all blown away by how beautiful it was. it looks great in photos but in person, even better. The water features, wood floors, the pool, the kitchen, the rooms, the outside showers & the views …we never wanted to leave. The owners even left games in the office for us to play. As a matter of fact, one game presented a question about who you would like to be if you could be anyone & one of our guests answered that she'd like to be the people moving into the house the next week. We did the hike on the property to the waterfall. It was beautiful. Anna made us a hand drawn map to get to the falls, truth is we didn’t even need it, it was clearly marked & the paths were very well groomed. Every morning there were Toucans just outside our balcony Monkeys in the trees. We saw wild boar, birds of all kinds & there was a Sloth that hung out in the tree in the front yard everyday for most of our trip!

This was the perfect vacation !!! Thank you so much to ALL the staff and the owners for helping us in so many ways.We are so grateful!

Kimmie K.

Villa Mayana - Fantastic Vacation
Review Submitted: April 22, 2017

13 of us stayed at Villa Mayana for 8 days and had one of the best vacations you can imagine. The Villa was even more beautiful than the photos. The view was something we will never forget. The staff were amazing. And our vacation experience was perfect.

We can't thank Rick, Ana, and Donald enough for all they did to make this trip one of our Top 5 vacations of all time. We'll be back sometime in the future.

Lora C.

Exceeded Expectations
Review Submitted: May 4, 2016

Recently stayed at Villa Mayana with a group of friends & family. The house was as stunning as the pictures depicted. The property is nestled up in the forest canopy, with incredible views of the Pacific and Playa Hermosa. The grounds are spacious and well-manicured, providing a tranquil and lush aesthetic.

The staff was very personable and accommodating. Roberto and Ya prepared excellent meals for us with special attention to fresh and local ingredients. Ana, the concierge was extremely responsive and thorough leading up to our stay, providing all the necessary information and travel plan coordination. She continued to assist us on a daily basis with restaurant selections, activities and local attractions.

I've rented nice houses across the Caribbean before but they haven't come close to the quality of food preparation and service that we were treated to at Mayana.

We all left a little happier heading back to the Northeast.

Mark D.

FIVE STARS!
Review Submitted: August 5, 2015

The other reviewers have done a much better job than I can ever do of describing the property and the experience. Rarely am I at a loss for words-but put most simply-- it was the best vacation ever! The house alone was enough to make me come back. However, it was the staff that helped make the vacation the best ever. Ana, Roberto and the team roll out the red carpet. We sincerely lacked for nothing the entire time we were there.

Thank you for the chance to stay here and thank you for creating heaven on earth.

Bret B.

What an amazing trip our party had!
Review Submitted: April 10, 2013

It is hard to imagine that this place is even more beautiful in person by looking at the pictures on the website. Pictures on the website are beautiful but do not compare to what you see and experience in person!! What a magical experience it was, when we first walked through the main part of the villa and saw the spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean!

We are seasoned travelers and have rented various villas in different parts of the world. Villa Mayana is definitely one of our favorites. We were a group of 16 people (8 adults and 8 kids) and our entire experience at Villa Mayana was superb! Many different amenities were available at the villa too which helped make our whole experience there seamless.

The villa staff was fantastic and Ana the villa manager was instrumental in helping organize our stay there. We are so thankful that we were provided a local cell phone to use while we were away from the villa. It came in handy in a few situations when we needed to get in touch with Ana. She was always accessible. We also hired a private chef (highly recommend). Our chef Roberto cooked delicious meals- everyone in our party including the children loved his food. He was also very accommodating. His wife Zaida was also there to assist. They are both very sweet people and worked so hard. We highly recommend the Villa Mayana experience. What an amazing trip our party had!

Everyone had an amazing time...
Review Submitted: April 7, 2013

We recently visted Villa Mayana. Our group had 3 families, all with kids 4-8 and we're a well traveled crew that likes to stay in really nice places. Everyone had an amazing time...the property, grounds, hiking trails, and pool were wonderful and enough to keep everyone happy and occupied, but on top of that, we enjoyed the local options from zip-lining to fishing to visiting Corcovado National park.

The service was Four Seasons-esque -- handling and helping us with all our arrangements, preparing meals that satisfied both adults and kiddos, and keeping things nice and tidy while we were there enjoying the house. Everyone was super friendly throughout the trip (both on and off property) so much so that we all intend to return! Don't miss this amazing property if you're headed to Costa Rica....you will not be disappointed!

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!
Review Submitted: April 29, 2011 Date of Stay: April 2011

We just got back from our visit to Villa Mayana and we were completely blown away at the beauty of the house and the property. The house is so well designed with so much attention paid to the details. Every room has a balcony, outdoor showers in each room, gorgeous bathrooms, modern kitchens and beautiful furniture. The dining room table is awesome. The vistas /views from the property are almost too good to be true. I loved the side viewing deck that overlooks the mountain forest. Bring your binoculars! I also loved how we just hooked up our ipod and our music played on all speakers. Our group is well traveled and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are not sure how we can top this trip. Roberto, the chef, prepared amazing meals, including the most delicious fresh fruit juices at each meal. Ana was so lovely and helpful in all areas, she organized all of our trips and activities (white water rafting, zip-lining, even massages at the home.) She also organized a guide to take us on a serious hike of the property to the waterfall. Thanks Keyston! She even had our rental cars waiting for us at the villa. No detail went unnoticed from her. She is so organized, friendly and helpful. Our visit to Villa Mayana was truly special and we cannot wait to return.

Lori Clarksville, Maryland

PERFECTION...and we travel a lot!

We are always ready to get home after a week away from our own bed...not in this case.

There are no words to discribe the tranquility and situation of this home and its property or the people that manage your stay. We travel a good bit and this place far exceeded our expectations.

I would rather keep this paradise to myself and not write this review but it is just to great not to share.

We just returned a few days ago and are already planning a quick return...so don't try to book our week! :)

Beth Alabama, USA

Villa Mayana: Paradise Found

Villa Mayana exceeded our expectations. The photographs capture the property's beauty, but do not convey its sense of serenity or the service we received from its exceptional staff. From the moment that we drove through the private gate, wending our way past the colorful bougainvillea and stately palms, we sensed that this could be one of those few experiences that resonates for a lifetime. As we made the final turn into the courtyard, looked past the reflecting pool and out across the Pacific, we began to sense that this was just the beginning of a magical week.

Leave your shoes at the door. Cool stone floors in the living areas and beautiful wood floors in bedrooms feel great against bare feet. Walk into the heart of the villa, an open space with vistas of lush, landscaped grounds that extend to the sea. We spent most of our time here, either cooking in the well-appointed kitchen, laughing and sharing our days' adventures around the enormous tree trunk table, or just hanging out on any of the comfortable sofas.

Just downstairs is the pool, which was always at a perfect temperature. Swim laps, float, or sit on any of the underwater ledges. A huge palapa, umbrellas, and soft steady cross breezes kept us cool. On property, hike to the waterfall that is tucked a half mile into the rain forest. At dusk and dawn, listen for the calls of the howler monkeys and the wide variety of birds, especially the toucans. It is those sounds coming from the rain forest that you'll remember once you leave.

You will also remember the people who take care of you during your stay. Ana was remarkable. She listened to our wish list of activities and not only provided great recommendations, but made the reservations for us. We went on an thrilling canopy zip line tour with Chris, and took surfing lessons and white water rafted with Dominical Surf Adventures. Ana recommended fabulous restaurants (Citrus and Exotica), and helped us figure out where to get great takeout burritos. She found chefs who came to the villa and cooked traditional "Tica" meals and more gourmet fare. Highly recommended! The rest of the team, from those who took care of the grounds to those who kept the villa neat and tidy, went above and beyond for us every day. We can't thank them enough.

They have created a retreat that is stunningly beautiful, yet warm and welcoming. We are thankful that they were willing to share it with us, and yes, we are already planning our return trip.

DawnDux Boston, MA

We just retuned back to New England from spending 7 glorious days at Villa Mayana. Wow! As the other reviews have pointed out, the pictures just cannot capture the feeling of warmth and tranquility that captivates you.

The amenities are top of the line! From the flat screen TV's, to the infinity pool, to the private outdoor showers – every nook and cranny is simply divine. The views are spectacular, the weather was divine, the "rainforest" setting creates an ambience of sight and sound as delicious as the native fruit and fish.

Our family members ranged from ages 19 to 78 years of age. There were a total of 11 of us. There was something for everyone! The property manager, Ana, made our trip an event we will never forget. She coordinated zip line tours, white water rafting, hikes, surfing lessons for the young adults, catered dinners, an onsite visit by a masseuse, yoga classes. You name it, we did it. Ana is a special person we are grateful to have met. Caiston, the groundskeeper, met us daily with a smile and a helping hand. He was also a pleasure to have met and from him, we were able to learn a lot about life in Costa Rica. All in all, Villa Mayana is a wonderful spot for reflection, relaxation, and a lot of fun!

Joanne Savard Duxbury, MA

This house was amazing!!!

It's like having your own private five-star resort. By far, this was the most amazing place we have ever stayed. Words can't describe the beauty and expansiveness of this property. It was incredible watching the sun dip into the Pacific from the most unbelievable infinity pool you could ever dream of. We were blown away by this magnificent house. Pura Vida!

Allison & Eric, Chicago

This estate is magnificent!

The infinity pool overlooking the ocean is breath-taking, right out of a magazine. We stayed during Christmas and the entire experience was the best vacation ever for out family. I have never seen such beautiful grounds and a home so perfectly designed for everyone's comfort. Sipping wine on the terrace while watching the sunset and listening to music - it doesn't get any better than this!! What an amazing place!!!

Mark and Ad, St Louis

The Villa is the most beautiful home I have ever seen. The house is great because all of the rooms are equally fabulous, and the privacy of both the setting and each of the bedrooms is very special. Taking a shower outside while the sun set, I felt like I was on a movie set. Anna, the manager, lives on the property and knows everyone and everything in the area and arranged everything for us. We took a fabulous hike on the property to a water fall with Wilbur, a great hiking guide. The pictures are very accurate. I can't wait to return.

Susie, Chicago